Rancho Palos Verdes City Council
   

TO: HONORABLE MAYOR AND MEMBERS OF THE CITY COUNCIL

FROM: ASSISTANT CITY MANAGER

DATE: FEBRUARY 4, 2003

SUBJECT: BUDGET MEETING SCHEDULE FOR 2003

 

RECOMMENDATION

1.Select two dates in March or April for the City Council Budget Policy Issue Workshops.

2.Select two dates in May for the City Council Budget Review Workshops (only one date may be necessary).

3.Select two dates, one in spring and one in fall, for the Community Leaders' Breakfast meetings.

BACKGROUND

During the first year of the two-year budget cycle, the Council usually holds one or two Budget Policy Workshops in March or April to discuss budget policy items and then holds one or two public Budget Review Sessions in May to review the draft budget document. Then, as required by the Municipal Code, the Council holds one or two (only one may be necessary) public hearings in June, prior to adopting the budget for the next fiscal year. Also, early in the year, the City Council schedules the two Community Leaders’ Breakfasts, one in the spring and one in the fall, to meet with resident volunteers and appointed officials of the City.

DISCUSSION

Budget Policy Issues Workshops

As part of the budget preparation cycle, the City Council has traditionally conducted a Budget Policy Issues Workshop prior to the preparation of the budget document. In the past, staff has compiled the initial list of topics for this meeting and provided an analysis of each item. However, due to the state budget crisis and its pending impact on the City, staff is recommending that the Council conduct two workshops in 2003. The first workshop would be a joint session with the Finance Advisory Committee to review the City’s budget history, consider future revenue streams and identify budget issues of concern for the next two-year budget cycle. At the second workshop, staff would present an analysis of the policy items identified at the joint CC/FAC Workshop, as well as any additional items identified by staff. The input received at the two workshops will then be incorporated into the draft two-year budget document. Below are suggested dates for the Budget Policy Issues Workshops (please select two dates):

Monday, March 10, 2003

Thursday, March 13, 2003

Monday, March 24, 2003

Saturday, March 29, 2003

Thursday, April 3, 2003

Wednesday, April 23, 2003

Tuesday, April 29, 2003 (5th Tuesday)

Budget Review Sessions

In addition to the budget policy issues workshops, two sessions should be scheduled in May to provide the City Council with an opportunity to review and comment on the entire proposed budget prior to the formal Public Hearing in June. The Council may complete its review of the draft budget at the first budget review session. If that is the case, then a second session will not be necessary. Below are proposed dates for the Budget Review Sessions (please select two dates):

 

Thursday, May 8, 2003

Saturday, May 10, 2003

Thursday, May 15, 2003

Saturday, May 17, 2003

Monday, May 19, 2003

Thursday, May 22, 2003

Saturday, May 24, 2003

Depending on which dates the Council selects for the Budget Review Sessions, the proposed final Public Hearing date for the FY 2003-04 and 2004-05 Budget document is tentatively scheduled for the June 3 or June 17, 2003 City Council meetings.

Community Leaders' Breakfast Meetings

The City has been hosting two Community Leaders' Breakfast meetings per year to create more opportunities for communication with the residents and appointed officials of the City. Should the Council wish to continue these breakfast meetings in 2003, the following is a list of proposed dates for both the spring and fall meetings:

Spring:

Saturday, April 5, 2003

Saturday, April 26, 2003

Saturday, May 3, 2003

Fall:

Saturday, September 20, 2003

Saturday, October 11, 2003

Saturday, October 18, 2003

 

Respectfully submitted,

Carolynn Petru

Assistant City Manager

Reviewed:

Les Evans

City Manager